Posted by: alliehope | August 14, 2008

A Week Later (Summit 3)

This time last week, I was sitting in a comfy chair in South Barrington, anxiously awaiting whatever God would say to me. Now a week and several journal entries (and a couple blog entries) later, I am still in awe of His marvelous work through the conference to reinvigorate my life with Him.

I have already decided that I’m going next year, come Hell or high water. The only reason, I told a friend, that I wouldn’t go, is if I were laid up in traction somewhere. Otherwise, I’m aware that Summit is something I need to do for myself to keep my life with God in the world going. It is a challenge and an inspiration on a scale that I don’t see every day, which is what I need to go through every day. The jet-fuel injection that I got has yet to really be felt, as I’m still sorting through my notes and thoughts on it, but one thing I do know: I am more grateful now than ever that I went.

I keep coming back to Gary Haugen’s phrase “the more demanding climb” as an incredibly accurate depiction of the kind of Christian life that we are called to. It reminds me of Jesus’ saying that the gate is small and the road is narrow that leads to life, and just how much I want to be one of the ones who finds it. I believe that I’m on the right path, but sometimes my lack of clarity is frightening–I don’t know if I’m walking the wrong way or not!

Part of the problem, I realize, is that I’m not spending nearly as much time with God as I need to in order to understand where He’s leading me. It’s too easy to say that I’m undisciplined, but I’ve been really lazy. That’s the truth. I’m realizing that I can’t just rely on the yearly challenge of Summit for the “more demanding climb”, but need to daily seek God’s direction for where to go next, especially in the times when it seems like I’m climbing up sheer rock with nothing else around me to give me any clue where I’m going. Without that daily time, for all I know, I could be climbing backwards!

My hope for the days ahead is that I can become more deliberate about spending time with God. I think the key here is to keep short accounts: if I miss a day, just pick right back up the next day and not hold it over my head. If I do, that will help beat discouragement, I hope. And who knows but what God could lead me to a far different place at this time next year as I come off my second Summit! I trust that no matter what, He will be faithful to complete the work He has started in me, and that’s the bottom line.

Responses

  1. Hi, thanks for posting your reflections on Gary’s speech, You might be further encouraged by checking out his book Just Courage (www.justcourage.com) and the resources available there..all the best, sincerely, Lyn from IJM HQ


Leave a Reply

Categories

