Posted by: alliehope | September 16, 2008

Excited For This

There are issues that “polite” people don’t discuss. Usually, politics, sex and religion dominate that category. However, there is an issue that needs to be discussed, now more than ever: the issue of human trafficking. I have written a little about this before, but am convinced that one of the reasons I’ve been given my writing gift (such as it might be) is to force this issue. I believe that by bringing this issue into the light, we can slay the monsters that hold innocent women and children captive, and bring the perpetrators to justice.

That’s why I’m way excited about the Call and Response project, something I found through the Generation Axis Blog. Watching the trailer compelled me into writing about this issue again, and made me think: what can I do, on a local level, to make this issue one that people, polite or not, talk about? This blog is a start, and I can’t wait until the movie itself comes out, to hear the discussions and see the ideas that are generated by it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

