Posted by: alliehope | August 15, 2009

A Little of Both

Yep… the little birds have it right. I am engaged. (Holy &^#@!) Even though I can hear the wags out there saying that it’s too soon (Mike and I have only been dating 7 months), I believe that when love finds you, and I believe it has in my case, you run with it however far it takes you, no matter what anyone else thinks or does. After all, what other people think of you is none of your business.

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, I’ve been doing some thinking about health care reform, and what it might mean to America. Before I give my opinions, let’s start with a little truth. I figure, if we want to have some reasonable debate, as President Obama is urging, we need to have some straight facts. The seven issues talked about in the posting I linked to are the biggest canards being played by BOTH sides in this one, and understanding what they are is a key step in forming a well-reasoned, well-subtantiated opinion.

As for my opinion, I believe that heath care reform is a justice issue, and one that needs to be addressed. If even one person uninsured is a tragedy, 47 million is a travesty. While I have not yet formed my own opinion, I believe one thing very strongly: There MUST be a public option. There also MUST be more clear regulations on what private insurance companies are and are not allowed to do. There also needs to be a strong shift into preventive care and educating people about nutrition, fitness, anti-smoking, and other preventive care issues. That’s what I think so far. More later, as I continue to sort through all the crap out there and attempt to form my own opinion.

Leave a Reply

Categories

